top of page


The big question about Gluten…is it bad for me?

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, rye and sometimes oats. This protein is what gives most bread, pasta, pastries & foods alike that stretchy, soft yummy texture. However, there is no nutritional value to gluten. On the other hand, this delicious ingredient comes at a price.

There is a nutritional value to eating wheat products, however, when the body is oversaturated with Gluten it can result in the development of Celiac disease and/or gluten sensitivity. The reason being is the body can’t recognize this protein as food; meaning it can’t process, metabolize or use it for energy. Therefore, the body stores this protein into the fatty tissue cells with all the other toxins and free-radicals. Eventually, these toxins will develop into diseases like celiac disease, diabetes, organ malfunction, allergies and many other less obvious illnesses.

While all these diseases are serious, celiac disease is the most common in connection to Gluten. Approximately 1 in 133 Americans have Celiac Disease. According to WebMD, Celiac disease is caused by “an abnormal immune response to gluten, it can damage the lining of the small intestine. That, in turn, can prevent important nutrients from being absorbed.” Symptoms are not always noticeable with celiac disease. If you experience severe skin rashes, bone pain, diarrhea, have anemia and you think you may have celiac disease, please see a doctor immediately and get a blood test. Celiac disease is a serious condition and can lead to death.

If you are gluten sensitive, you may experience bloating, cramping, diarrhea, digestive issues, food and environmental allergies. In this case, avoid gluten products as much as possible. Keep in mind that “grains” are not a food group of its own, it is part of a food group. You will never hear a doctor say you are “bread deficient”; avoiding bread, rice and pasta will help the body feel better. To maintain a good array of vitamins, minerals, and fiber in your diet substitute wheat products with quinoa, amaranth, corn, millet, and buckwheat, these are naturally gluten-free. When purchasing processed foods, always read the nutritional label and check the ingredients. Also, consider taking vitamin supplements and a good source of soluble and insoluble fiber.


These ingredients may contain gluten or are made with gluten-containing products.

Amino peptide complex Amp-isostearoyl hydrolyzed wheat protein Avena sativa (oat) flour Avena sativa (oat) flour kernel Barley derived Barley extract Disodium wheatgermamido PEG-2 sulfosuccinateH Hordeum vulgare (barley) extract Hyrdrolyzed wheat gluten Hydrolyzed wheat protein Phytosphingosine extract Rye derived Sodium lauroyl oat amino acids Triticum vulgare (wheat) flour lipids Triticum vulgare (wheat) germ extract Triticum vulgare (wheat) germ oil Tocopherol Tocopheryl acetate Vitamin E (make sure it's not derived from wheat) Wheat (triticum vulgare) bran extract Wheat amino acids Wheat bran extract Wheat derived Wheat germ extracts Wheat germ glycerides Wheat germ oil Wheat germamidopropyldimonium hydroxypropyl hydrolyzed wheat protein Hydrolyzed wheat protein PG-propyl silanetriol Hydrolyzed wheat starch Hydroxpropyltrimonium hydrolyzed wheat protein Oat (avena sativa) extract Oat beta glucan Oat derived Oat extract Oat flour


Sources: WebMD, Women’s Health, Celiac Disease -

#gluten #celiacdisease #nutrition #wheat #symptoms #bread


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page